Did you know?

  • that only sixteen women have received the Nobel Peace Prize: Bertha von Suttner (1905), Jane Addams (1931), Emily Greene Balch (1946), Mairead Corrigan (1977), Betty Williams (1977), Mother Teresa (1979), Alva Myrdal (1982), Aung San Suu Kyi (1991), Rigoberta Menchú Tum (1992), Jody Williams (1997), Shirin Ebadi (2003), and Wangari Maathai (2004), Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (2011), Leymah Gbowee(2011), Tawakkol Karman (2011) and Malala Yousafzai (2014).

  • that the oldest Peace Prize Laureate ever is Josef Rotblat, who received the Prize in 1995 at the age of 87, while the youngest of all time is Malala Yousafzai, who was 17 the year she received the Prize.

  • that the USA is the country that has produced most winners of the Nobel Peace Prize, 21 individual Laureates in all from 1901 to 2011, followed by France (9) and Great Britain (7).

  • that the great Indian advocate of non-violence Mahatma Gandhi was never awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

  • that many famous statesmen and national leaders have been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize without receiving it, including Tsar Nicholas II, Emperor Haile Selassie, Thomas G. Masaryk, Eduard Benes, Neville Chamberlain, Anthony Eden, Clement Attlee, Ramsay MacDonald, Winston Churchill, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry S. Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Charles Hughes, John Foster Dulles, Pierre Mendès-France, Konrad Adenauer, Juan and Eva Peron, Jawaharlal Nehru and Juho Kusti Paasikivi.

  • that the dictators Benito Mussolini (1935), Adolf Hitler (1939) and Joseph Stalin (1945, 1948) were all nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

  • that several famous artists have been nominated for the Peace Prize, including Leo Tolstoy, Erich Maria Remarque and Pablo Casals.

  • ON

    Joseph Rotblat

    © The Norwegian Nobel Institute

    The eldest person to receive the Nobel Peace Prize, Joseph Rotblatt.

    More on nobelprize.org