Committee members

Thorbjørn Jagland

b. 1950.
Chair of the Nobel Committee.
Secretary-general Council of Europe.
President of the Storting. 2005-2009. Prime Minister 1996-1997. Foreign Minister 2000-2001. Member of the Storting 1993-2009.
Member of the Committee since 2009, appointed for the period 2009-2014.

Kaci Kullmann Five

b. 1951
Deputy chair of the Nobel Committee.
Self employed Advisor Public Affairs. Chairman of the Young Conservatives, 1977-79. Member of the Storting, 1981-97. Cabinet Minister for Trade, Shipping and European Affairs, 1989-90. Chairman of the Conservative Party, 1991-94.
Member of the Committee since 2003, reappointed for the period 2009-2014.

Inger-Marie Ytterhorn

b. 1941
Senior political adviser to the Progress Party's parliamentary group. Member of the Storting, 1989-93. Member of the Election Law Ad hoc committee 1998-2001.
Member of the Committee since 2000, reappointed for the period 2012-2017.

Berit Reiss-Andersen

b. 1954
Lawyer in the law firm Reiss-Andersen & Co, President of the Norwegian Bar Association since 2008, state secretary in the Justice department 1996-97.
Member of the Committee since 2012, appointed for the period 2012-2017.

Gunnar Stålsett

b. 1935
Bishop of Oslo 1998-2005. Leader of the Center Party 1977-79. Member of the Norwegian Nobel Committee 1985-90, 1994-2002 and from 2012.
(Member during Ågot Valle's sick leave).

More on

List of all the members of The Norwegian Nobel Committee from 1901 to the present.