Criteria for nominators

Who may nominate candidates for the Peace Prize?
According to the statutes of the Nobel Foundation, a nomination is considered valid if it is submitted by a person who falls within one of the following categories:

  • Members of national assemblies and national governments (cabinet members/ministers) of sovereign states as well as current heads of states

  • Members of The International Court of Justice in The Hague and The Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague

  • Members of Institut de Droit International

  • University professors, professors emeriti and associate professors of history, social sciences, law, philosophy, theology, and religion; university rectors and university directors (or their equivalents); directors of peace research institutes and foreign policy institutes

  • Persons who have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize

  • Members of the main board of directors or its equivalent for organizations that have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize

  • Current and former members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee (proposals by current members of the Committee to be submitted no later than at the first meeting of the Committee after 1 February)

  • Former advisers to the Norwegian Nobel Committee

  • Unless otherwise stated the term members shall be understood as current (sitting) members.

    Revised September 2016